Firearm Licensing

Firearms Licensing

Firearms Identification Card (FID)

Residents must have an FID to purchase, possess, or transport a rifle or shotgun that is not a large-capacity gun; to purchase or possess ammunition or component parts of ammunition; and to purchase or possess defense sprays for anyone age 15-17, an FID is not required for defense spray for ages 18 and older.


License to Carry (LTC)

Residents must have a License to Carry Firearms to purchase, possess, or transport a handgun, large capacity rifle, or large-capacity shotgun. The License to Carry Firearms also authorizes a person to purchase, possess, or transport all guns and materials that would be covered by an FID.  The LTC is the only license that allows the concealed carrying of firearms.


How to Apply for an LTC or FID

To apply for a new FID card or LTC, please call the department’s Firearms Licensing Clerk for information at (413) 283-5804.


What you will need to apply:


Application Process, Fees & Renewals


  •  New LTC applicants must be 21 years of age or older to obtain a permit. In accordance with MGL Ch. 140, Sec. 131(a) & (b); Issuing of LTCs is also “subject to such restrictions relative to the possession, use or carrying of firearms as the licensing authority deems proper.” An LTC costs $100.00 and is valid for 6 years, the fee is non-refundable.
  •  New FID applicants must be 18 years or older (or 14–17 years of age with parental consent). Applicants 14 years old may apply but will not be issued the card until they reach age 15). In accordance with MGL Ch. 140, Sec. 129B; “Any person residing or having a place of business within the jurisdiction of the licensing authority or any person residing in an area of exclusive federal jurisdiction located within a city or town may submit to the licensing authority an application for a firearm identification card, or renewal of the same, which the licensing authority shall issue if it appears that the applicant is not a prohibited person.” The fee for an FID card is $100.00 for people 18 years of age or older and $25 for applicants under 18 years of age. It is valid for 6 years, the fee is non-refundable.
  • Firearms License Renewals: Firearms licenses are valid for 6 years. You must submit a request to your local police department for a renewal prior to the expiration date of your current license. If your application for renewal is made prior to the expiration date, your current license remains valid until the renewal is either approved or denied. Additional training is not required, the fee is non-refundable.


Application for FID Card or LTC

You can Download the state’s LTC/FID Application (PDF) from the Massachusetts Office of Public Safety and Security at


New Residents

The law exempts new residents to the state of Massachusetts from the state licensing requirement for only 60 days. However, one may not transport any firearm, rifle, or shotgun during that 60-day period, as the exemption is only for possession in the home while applying for the necessary license(s).